Board of Trustees

Briarwood Academy is governed and controlled by the Board of Trustees. The Board consists of nine Trustees who serve a three-year term. The Trustees make all policies, determine goals and objectives for the school, and make the final decision in all matters related to the Academy. The Headmaster operates the school on a day-to-day basis and carries out the policies of the Board.

The Board of Trustees members are nominated and elected at the general membership meeting of the Briarwood Parent-Teacher Organization each spring.  The Trustees serve rotating three-year terms.

2023-2024 Board of Trustees

Effective July 1, 2023


Mr. Ed Pope, Chairman
Mrs. Jamey Lyons, Vice-Chairman
Mrs. Amanda Ogletree, Secretary

Term Expires 2024
Term Expires 2025
Term Expires 2026
Mrs. Amanda Ogletree (Warren County)
Mr. Adam Chalker (Warren County)
Matt Garthright (Warren County)
Mrs. Jamey Lyons (McDuffie County)
Mrs. Merri Stephens (McDuffie County)
Jaye Jones (McDuffie County)
Mr. Ashley Andrews (Wilkes County)
Mrs. Carla Duffie (At Large)
Ed Pope (At Large)