Faculty

crestThe major objective of Briarwood Academy is to provide an educational experience that will enable each student to achieve the maximum in scholastic, social, moral, and spiritual growth. Briarwood is able to accomplish this because of the excellence of the academic program, the quality and dedication of its staff, and the quality of the school environment.

The responsibility of a teacher in a child’s life is immeasurable. The teacher instructs as much by personal example as by any other method, and has a responsibility to maintain a proper professional image at all times.

Administration

PositionStaff MemberE-mail Address
HeadmasterClayton Parrishparrishc@briarwoodacademy.com
Principal  Brinkley Bradshawbradshawb@briarwoodacademy.com
Director of Student Services/CounselorMegan Cobbcobbm@briarwoodacademy.com
Athletic DirectorBo Flemingflemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
Development OfficerTraylee Deandeant@briarwoodacademy.com

Support Staff

PositionStaff MemberE-mail Address
AccountantLisa Newsomenewsomel@briarwoodacademy.com
Choral Director/Music Literary SponsorJanie Kate Blasingameblasingamej@briarwoodacademy.com
Custodial/Food ServicesFreda Bradford
Custodial/Food ServicesCharlie Burley
Custodial/Food ServicesGladys Lowe
Custodial/Food ServicesBrenda Shurley
Custodial/Food ServicesAnnette Whigham
Lunchroom ManagerKristie Waldenwaldenk@briarwoodacademy.com
 Media SpecialistLiz Brunnerbrunnerl@briarwoodacademy.com
Non-Music Literary SponsorBrinkley Bradshawbradshawb@briarwoodacademy.com
ParaprofessionalAngie Caranicarania@briarwoodacademy.com
Paraprofessional/BusJoann Baldwinbaldwinj@briarwoodacademy.com
ParaprofessionalKathy Johnsonjohnsonk@briarwoodacademy.com
School NurseKathy Johnsonjohnsonk@briarwoodacademy.com
SecretaryTeresa Mimbsmimbst@briarwoodacademy.com
 Technology DirectorJennifer Johnsonjohnsonj@briarwoodacademy.com

Teaching Staff

PositionStaff MemberE-mail Address     
Elementary
K4 TeacherEmily Furrfurre@briarwoodacademy.com
K4 ParaProFran Johnsonjohnsonf@briarwoodacademy.com
K4 ParaProValerie Hackenberryhackenberryv@briarwoodacademy.com
K5 TeacherLisa Pickrellpickrelll@briarwoodacademy.com
K5 ParaProAmy Johnstonjohnstona@briarwoodacademy.com
1st Grade TeacherElena Lamarlamare@briarwoodacademy.com
1st Grade ParaProKaren McGeemcgeek@briarwoodacademy.com
1st Grade TeacherLindsey Barnettbarnettl@briarwoodacademy.com
1st Grade ParaProAshley Wilsonwilsona@briarwoodacademy.com
2nd Grade TeacherLyn Nealneall@briarwoodacademy.com
2nd Grade ParaProJessie Hickshicksj@briarwoodacademy.com
2nd Grade TeacherLeila Holbrookholbrookl@briarwoodacademy.com
2nd Grade ParaProGinny Powerpowerg@briarwoodacademy.com
3rd GradeSherry Allenallens@briarwoodacademy.com
4th GradeJudy Chisholmchisholmj@briarwoodacademy.com
5th GradeShirley Keithkeiths@briarwoodacademy.com
PositionStaff MemberE-mail Address
Middle/High School
Art 6th GradeBrunner, Lizbrunnerl@briarwoodacademy.com
Art 7th GradeBrunner, Lizbrunnerl@briarwoodacademy.com
Algebra IDeMore, Hannahdemoreh@briarwoodacademy.com
Algebra IJohnson, Stephaniejohnsons@briarwoodacademy.com
Algebra IWaller, Robertwallerr@briarwoodacademy.com
Algebra IIJohnson, Stephaniejohnsons@briarwoodacademy.com
AnatomyHarrison, Jenniferharrisonj@briarwoodacademy.com
AP BiologySheppard, Kayleighsheppardk@briarwoodacademy.com
AP CalculusDeMore, Hannahdemoreh@briarwoodacademy.com
AP ChemistrySheppard, Kayleighsheppardk@briarwoodacademy.com
AP European HistoryHammond, Chadhammondc@briarwoodacademy.com
AP Language/CompositionBradshaw, Brinkleybradshawb@briarwoodacademy.com
AP Literature/CompositionBradshaw, Brinkleybradshawb@briarwoodacademy.com
AP PsychologyDawkins, Aldawkinsa@briarwoodacademy.com
AP US HistoryDawkins, Aldawkinsa@briarwoodacademy.com
Bible StudiesGerlach, Ryangerlachr@briarwoodacademy.com
Biology IHarrison, Jenniferharrisonj@briarwoodacademy.com
CalculusJohnson, Stephaniejohnsons@briarwoodacademy.com
ChemistrySheppard, Kayleighsheppardk@briarwoodacademy.com
ComputerReese, Mary Lynnreesem@briarwoodacademy.com
Creative WritingJoesbury, Stephaniejoesburys@briarwoodacademy.com
Earth ScienceCox, Beckiecoxb@briarwoodacademy.com
EconomicsCox, Beckiecoxb@briarwoodacademy.com
EconomicsWhitaker, Buffywhitakerb@briarwoodacademy.com
English 6th GradeJoesbury, Stephaniejoesburys@briarwoodacademy.com
English 7th GradeRodgers, Minarodgersm@briarwoodacademy.com
English 7th GradeRodgers, Minarodgersm@briarwoodacademy.com
English 8th GradeRodgers, Minarodgersm@briarwoodacademy.com
English 8th GradeHarrison, Jenniferharrisonj@briarwoodacademy.com
English IJoesbury, Stephaniejoesburys@briarwoodacademy.com
English IIRobinson, Leerobinsonl@briarwoodacademy.com
English IIIRobinson, Leerobinsonl@briarwoodacademy.com
English IVRobinson, Leerobinsonl@briarwoodacademy.com
GeographyFleming, Boflemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
GeometryJohnson, Stephaniejohnsons@briarwoodacademy.com
GeometryWhitaker, Buffywhitakerb@briarwoodacademy.com
Georgia HistoryDawkins, Aldawkinsa@briarwoodacademy.com
H. Algebra IIJohnson, Stephaniejohnsons@briarwoodacademy.com
H. Biology IHarrison, Jenniferharrisonj@briarwoodacademy.com
H. CalculusDeMore, Hannahdemoreh@briarwoodacademy.com
H. ChemistrySheppard, Kayleighsheppardk@briarwoodacademy.com
H. English IRobinson, Leerobinsonl@briarwoodacademy.com
H. English IIRobinson, Leerobinsonl@briarwoodacademy.com
H. GeometryDeMore, Hannahdemoreh@briarwoodacademy.com
H. PhysicsSheppard, Kayleighsheppardk@briarwoodacademy.com
HS ChorusBlasingame, Janieblasingamej@briarwoodacademy.com
HumanitiesBlasingame, Janieblasingamej@briarwoodacademy.com
Life ScienceCox, Beckiecoxb@briarwoodacademy.com
Mathematics 6th GradeReese, Mary Lynnreesem@briarwoodacademy.com
Mathematics 6th GradeWaller, Robertwallerr@briarwoodacademy.com
Mathematics 7th GradeGerlach, Ryangerlachr@briarwoodacademy.com
Mathematics 7th GradeWaller, Robertwallerr@briarwoodacademy.com
Middle School ChorusBlasingame, Janieblasingamej@briarwoodacademy.com
Physical EducationShelnutt, DJshelnuttd@briarwoodacademy.com
Physical ScienceCox, Beckiecoxb@briarwoodacademy.com
Physical ScienceHarrison, Jenniferharrisonj@briarwoodacademy.com
Pre CalculusGerlach, Ryangerlachr@briarwoodacademy.com
SAT VerbalJoesbury, Stephaniejoesburys@briarwoodacademy.com
Science ElectiveHarrison, Jenniferharrisonj@briarwoodacademy.com
Spanish IReddick, Martha Carolinereddickm@briarwoodacademy.com
Spanish IIReddick, Martha Carolinereddickm@briarwoodacademy.com
Spanish IIIReddick, Martha Carolinereddickm@briarwoodacademy.com
United States HistoryWhitaker, Buffywhitakerb@briarwoodacademy.com
US HistoryDawkins, Aldawkinsa@briarwoodacademy.com
Western CivilizationHammond, Chadhammondc@briarwoodacademy.com
World HistoryHammond, Chadhammondc@briarwoodacademy.com
YearbookBrunner, Lizbrunnerl@briarwoodacademy.com

Coaching Staff

PositionHead Coach (Assistants)E-mail Address
Athletic DirectorBo Flemingflemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
Baseball - VaristyDJ Shelnuttshelnuttd@briarwoodacademy.com
Baseball - Middle School DJ Shelnuttshelnuttd@briarwoodacademy.com
Basketball - Varsity BoysRyan Gerlachgerlachr@briarwoodacademy.com
Basketball - Middle School Boys  Bo Flemingflemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
Basketball - Varsity Girls Brinkley Bradshaw (Hannah DeMore)bradshawb@briarwoodacademy.com
Basketball - Middle School GirlsClayton Parrish (Mary Lynn Reese)parrishc@briarwoodacademy.com
Cheerleading - Varsity Mary Lynn Reesereesema@briarwoodacademy.com
Cheerleading - Middle School Mary Lynn Reesereesema@briarwoodacademy.com
Cheerleading - Mighty BucsWhitney Bradshaw
Cross Country -Varsity Mary Lesterlesterm@briarwoodacademy.com
Cross Country - Middle School Mary Lesterlesterm@briarwoodacademy.com
Football - VarsityBo Fleming (Ryan Gerlach, Paden Remkus)flemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
Football -Middle SchoolRyan Gerlachgerlachr@briarwoodacademy.com
Football - Mighty Bucs Aaron Cobb
Golf Dennis Coxwell
Softball - Varsity Wayne Wilson (Casey Jackson)
Softball - Middle School Wayne Wilson (DJ Shelnutt)
Softball-Mighty BucsKristie Walden (Keith Grisco)waldenk@briarwoodacademy.com
TennisAshley Wilsonwilsona@briarwoodacademy.com 
Track - Varsity Boys DJ Shelnuttshelnuttd@briarwoodacademy.com
Track - Middle School BoysDJ Shelnuttshelnuttd@briarwoodacademy.com
Track - Varsity Girls Hannah DeMore/Mary Lynn Reesedemoreh@briarwoodacademy.com/reesema@briarwoodacademy.com
Track - Middle School Girls Mary Lynn Reesereesema@briarwoodacademy.com
TwirlingHannah DeMoredemoreh@briarwoodacademy.com

Leave a Reply