Faculty

crestThe major objective of Briarwood Academy is to provide an educational experience that will enable each student to achieve the maximum in scholastic, social, moral, and spiritual growth. Briarwood is able to accomplish this because of the excellence of the academic program, the quality and dedication of its staff, and the quality of the school environment.

The responsibility of a teacher in a child’s life is immeasurable. The teacher instructs as much by personal example as by any other method, and has a responsibility to maintain a proper professional image at all times.

Administration

PositionStaff MemberE-mail Address
HeadmasterClayton Parrishparrishc@briarwoodacademy.com
Assistant HeadmasterAl Dawkinsdawkinsa@briarwoodacademy.com
Director of Student Services/CounselorMallory Goolsbygoolsbym@briarwoodacademy.com
Athletic DirectorBo Flemingflemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
Development TeamTraylee Dean & Ashley Wilsondeant@briarwoodacademy.com , wilsona@briarwoodacademy.com

Support Staff

PositionStaff MemberE-mail Address
AccountantLisa Newsomenewsomel@briarwoodacademy.com
BusJoann Baldwinbaldwinj@briarwoodacademy.com
BusBeth Armourarmourb@briarwoodacademy.com
Choral Director/Music Literary SponsorAshlyn Sheppardshepparda@briarwoodacademy.com
Custodial/Food ServicesBeth Armourarmourb@briarwoodacademy.com
Custodial/Food ServicesFreda Bradfordbradfordf@briarwoodacademy.com
Custodial/Food ServicesCharlie Burleyburleyc@briarwoodacademy.com
Custodial/Food ServicesQuineshia Butlerbutlerq@briarwoodacademy.com
Custodial/Food ServicesGladys Loweloweg@briarwoodacademy.com
Custodial/Food ServicesBrenda Shurleyshurleyb@briarwoodacademy.com
Custodial/Food ServicesJuanita Whighamwhighamj@briarwoodacademy.com
Lunchroom ManagerKristie Waldenwaldenk@briarwoodacademy.com
 Media SpecialistLiz Brunnerbrunnerl@briarwoodacademy.com
Non-Music Literary SponsorLee Robinsonrobinsonl@briarwoodacademy.com
ParaprofessionalAngie Caranicarania@briarwoodacademy.com
PianoGayle Hammondhammondg@briarwoodacademy.com
School NurseKathy Johnsonjohnsonk@briarwoodacademy.com
SecretaryTeresa Mimbsmimbst@briarwoodacademy.com
 Technology DirectorJennifer Johnsonjohnsonj@briarwoodacademy.com

Teaching Staff

CourseTeacherE-mail Address
Elementary
K4 TeacherFurr, Emilyfurre@briarwoodacademy.com
K4 ParaProJohnston, Amyjohnstona@briarwoodacademy.com
K4 TeacherHackenberry, Valeriehackenberryv@briarwoodacademy.com
K4 ParaProJohnson, Stephaniejohnsonstephanie@briarwoodacademy.com
K5 TeacherPickrell, Lisapickrelll@briarwoodacademy.com
K5 ParaProBaldwin, Joannbaldwinj@briarwoodacademy.com
K5 TeacherPower, Ginnypowerg@briarwoodacademy.com
K5 ParaProChamlee, Laci chamleel@briarwoodacademy.com
1st Grade TeacherLamar, Elenalamare@briarwoodacademy.com
1st Grade ParaProMcGee, Karenmcgeek@briarwoodacademy.com
1st Grade TeacherBarnett, Lindseybarnettl@briarwoodacademy.com
1st Grade ParaProFran Johnsonjohnsonf@briarwoodacademy.com
2nd Grade TeacherNeal, Lynneall@briarwoodacademy.com
2nd Grade TeacherHolbrook, Leila holbrookl@briarwoodacademy.com
2nd Grade ParaProHicks, Jessiehicksj@briarwoodacademy.com
3rd GradeHammons, Amyhammonsa@briarwoodacademy.com
3rd GradeSpear, Stephaniespears@briarwoodacademy.com
3rd Grade ParaProNorris, Kerienorrisk@briarwoodacademy.com
4th GradeFoster, Ellenfostere@briarwoodacademy.com
4th GradeMetz, Jessica metzj@briarwoodacademy.com
5th GradeBlasingame, Janie Kateblasingamej@briarwoodacademy.com
5th GradeKeith, Shirleykeiths@briarwoodacademy.com
4th & 5th Grade ParaproAddyman, Tracieaddymant@briarwoodacademy.com
CourseTeacherE-mail Address
Middle/High School
Algebra IReese, Mary Lynnreesem@briarwoodacademy.com
Algebra IRogers, Allenrogersa@briarwoodacademy.com
Algebra IDeMore, Hannahdemoreh@briarwoodacademy.com
Algebra IIRogers, Allenrogersa@briarwoodacademy.com
AnatomyMitchell, Rebekahmitchellr@briarwoodacademy.com
AP BiologySheppard, Kayleighsheppardk@briarwoodacademy.com
AP CalculusDeMore, Hannahdemoreh@briarwoodacademy.com
AP ChemistrySheppard, Kayleighsheppardk@briarwoodacademy.com
AP European HistoryWhitaker, Buffywhitakerb@briarwoodacademy.com
AP Language/CompositionRobinson, Leerobinsonl@briarwoodacademy.com
AP Literature/CompositionRobinson, Leerobinsonl@briarwoodacademy.com
AP PsychologyPund, Nancypundn@briarwoodacademy.com
AP U.S. Government & PoliticsWhitaker, Buffywhitakerb@briarwoodacademy.com
AP US HistoryBarnett, Johnbarnettj@briarwoodacademy.com
Art AppreciationBrunner, Lizbrunnerl@briarwoodacademy.com
Biology IHarrison, Jenniferharrisonj@briarwoodacademy.com
CalculusRogers, Allenrogersa@briarwoodacademy.com
ChemistrySheppard, Kayleighsheppardk@briarwoodacademy.com
Computer-1Johnson, Jenniferjohnsonj@briarwoodacademy.com
Computer-2Johnson, Jenniferjohnsonj@briarwoodacademy.com
Computer-ElementaryCollins, Katiecollinsk@briarwoodacademy.com
Computer-ExploratoryCollins, Katiecollinsk@briarwoodacademy.com
Creative WritingPund, Nancypundn@briarwoodacademy.com
Earth Science-1Cox, Beckiecoxb@briarwoodacademy.com
Earth Science-2Cox, Beckiecoxb@briarwoodacademy.com
EcologyCox, Beckiecoxb@briarwoodacademy.com
EconomicsBarnett, Johnbarnettj@briarwoodacademy.com
English 6th Grade-1Snider, Jerrysniderj@briarwoodacademy.com
English 6th Grade-2Snider, Jerrysniderj@briarwoodacademy.com
English 7th Grade-1Snider, Jerrysniderj@briarwoodacademy.com
English 7th Grade-2Snider, Jerrysniderj@briarwoodacademy.com
English 8th GradeLang, Noellangn@briarwoodacademy.com
English 8th GradeSnider, Jerrysniderj@briarwoodacademy.com
English IRobinson, Leerobinsonl@briarwoodacademy.com
English IIRobinson, Leerobinsonl@briarwoodacademy.com
English IIILang, Noellangn@briarwoodacademy.com
English IVLang, Noellangn@briarwoodacademy.com
Environmental ScienceHarrison, Jenniferharrisonj@briarwoodacademy.com
Forensic ScienceHarrison, Jenniferharrisonj@briarwoodacademy.com
GeographyFleming, Boflemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
GeographyPund, Nancypundn@briarwoodacademy.com
GeometryCarr, Kimcarrk@briarwoodacademy.com
GeometryRogers, Allenrogersa@briarwoodacademy.com
Georgia HistoryDouglas, Busterdouglasb@briarwoodacademy.com
Georgia HistoryPund, Nancypundn@briarwoodacademy.com
GovernmentWhitaker, Buffywhitakerb@briarwoodacademy.com
H. Algebra IICarr, Kimcarrk@briarwoodacademy.com
H. Biology IMitchell, Rebekahmitchellr@briarwoodacademy.com
H. CalculusDeMore, Hannahdemoreh@briarwoodacademy.com
H. ChemistrySheppard, Kayleighsheppardk@briarwoodacademy.com
H. EconomicsWhitaker, Buffywhitakerb@briarwoodacademy.com
H. English ILang, Noellangn@briarwoodacademy.com
H. English IILang, Noellangn@briarwoodacademy.com
H. English IIIRobinson, Leerobinsonl@briarwoodacademy.com
H. GeometryDeMore, Hannahdemoreh@briarwoodacademy.com
H. GovernmentWhitaker, Buffywhitakerb@briarwoodacademy.com
H. PhysicsSheppard, Kayleighsheppardk@briarwoodacademy.com
Health/Physical EducationShelnutt, Djshelnuttd@briarwoodacademy.com
HS ChorusSheppard, Ashlynshepparda@briarwoodacademy.com
HumanitiesSheppard, Ashlynshepparda@briarwoodacademy.com
Life ScienceCox, Beckiecoxb@briarwoodacademy.com
Life ScienceCox, Beckiecoxb@briarwoodacademy.com
Mathematics 6th GradeReese, Mary Lynnreesem@briarwoodacademy.com
Mathematics 6th GradeReese, Mary Lynnreesem@briarwoodacademy.com
Mathematics 7th GradeReese, Mary Lynnreesem@briarwoodacademy.com
Mathematics 7th GradeReese, Mary Lynnreesem@briarwoodacademy.com
Middle School ChorusSheppard, Ashlynshepparda@briarwoodacademy.com
Music-ElementarySheppard, Ashlynshepparda@briarwoodacademy.com
Office AideParrish, Claytonparrishc@briarwoodacademy.com
Physical EducationSheppard, Justinsheppardj@briarwoodacademy.com
Physical ScienceMitchell, Rebekahcoxb@briarwoodacademy.com
Physical ScienceHarrison, Jenniferharrisonj@briarwoodacademy.com
Pre CalculusCarr, Kimcarrk@briarwoodacademy.com
Pre CalculusRogers, Allenrogersa@briarwoodacademy.com
SAT PrepHarrison, Jenniferharrisonj@briarwoodacademy.com
Spanish IReddick, Martha Carolinereddickm@briarwoodacademy.com
Spanish IReddick, Martha Carolinereddickm@briarwoodacademy.com
Spanish IIReddick, Martha Carolinereddickm@briarwoodacademy.com
United States HistoryWhitaker, Buffywhitakerb@briarwoodacademy.com
US HistoryDouglas, Busterdouglasb@briarwoodacademy.com
US HistoryPund, Nancypundn@briarwoodacademy.com
Weight TrainingFleming, Boflemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
Weight TrainingDouglas, Busterdouglasb@briarwoodacademy.com
Western CivilizationBarnett, Johnbarnettj@briarwoodacademy.com
World HistoryBarnett, Johnbarnettj@briarwoodacademy.com
YearbookBrunner, Lizbrunnerl@briarwoodacademy.com

Coaching Staff

PositionHead Coach E-mail Address
Athletic DirectorBo Flemingflemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
Baseball - VarsityWayne Wilson rwaynewilson2003@yahoo.com
Baseball - Middle School DJ Shelnuttshelnuttd@briarwoodacademy.com
Basketball - Varsity BoysJustin Sheppardsheppardj@briarwoodacademy.com
Basketball - Middle School Boys  Bo Flemingflemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
Basketball - Varsity Girls Buster Douglasdouglasb@briarwoodacademy.com
Basketball - Middle School GirlsKatie Collinscollinsk@briarwoodacademy.com
Cheerleading - Varsity Lindsey Barnettbarnettl@briarwoodacademy.com
Cheerleading - Middle School Lindsey Barnettbarnettl@briarwoodacademy.com
Cheerleading - Mighty BucsStephanie Johnsonjohnsonstephanie@briarwoodacademy.com
Cross Country -Varsity Mike Lester
Cross Country - Middle School Mike Lester
Football - VarsityBo Fleming flemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
Football -Middle SchoolBo Fleming/Justin Sheppardflemingb@briarwoodacademy.com
Football - Mighty Bucs Donny Demoredonnydemore3@gmail.com
Golf Dennis Coxwellcdc@pinesouth.com
Softball - Varsity DJ Shelnuttshelnuttd@briarwoodacademy.com
Softball - Middle School Austin Cooper
Softball-Mighty BucsGinny Powerpowerg@briarwoodacademy.com
TennisAshley Wilsonwilsona@briarwoodacademy.com 
Track - Varsity Boys
Track - Middle School Boys
Track - Varsity Girls
Track - Middle School Girls
Varsity TwirlingHannah DeMoredemoreh@briarwoodacademy.com
Littles, Mighties and Middle School TwirlingTraylee Deandeant@briarwoodacademy.com